About Us

The Village Improvement Association of Doylestown was founded in 1895 to support and enhance the quality of life in Central Bucks County. In 1923, the VIA opened Doylestown Hospital and today, VIA members continue to govern this award-winning healthcare system. The organization has grown to almost 300 members and still pursues the goals of the founding members through service and education. The VIA’s largest fundraiser is the Bucks County Designer House & Gardens, a community event that draws more than 7,000 visitors each year.

The VIA was the first Women’s Club established in Bucks County and held its first meeting on April 26, 1895, when Mrs. Mary L. DuBois was elected Chairman. The constitution was adopted at the May 21 meeting. Mrs. Richard Watson was elected President at the May 28 meeting. To learn more click here.

The VIA general membership meets monthly in the James-Lorah Auditorium and reviews organization activities, plans and results. An informative or entertaining presentation usually precedes the business meeting. Throughout the year, VIA committees work to fulfill the organization’s responsibilities to meet its mission, administer operations, maintain the James-Lorah Memorial Home and to explore mutual interests such as floral arts, gourmet foods and the theater.

Leave a Reply