A powerful architecture & Construction theme. Construct your website in the perfect Ratio.
Alienum phaedrum torquatos nec eu, vis detraxit periculis ex, nihil expetendis in mei. Mei an pericula

Enhancing the Health and Welfare

of Central Bucks County and Surrounding Communities


Biannually, the VIA selects and recognizes an individual or group who has contributed to the community consistent with the mission of the Village Improvement Association. The recipients are honored at the June VIA Luncheon.

(L to R) Joyce Hanson, Dr. Brenda Foley, and Marilyn Mele.

The 2019 recipient of the VIA’s Community Recognition Award is Brenda Foley, MD, assistant director of Doylestown Hospital’s Emergency Department. Dr. Foley joined Doylestown Hospital in 2008 and is President-elect of the Medical Staff. She is recognized for her efforts to combat the opioid epidemic. Dr. Foley helped establish Doylestown Hospital’s “Narcotic-Responsible Hospital” policy several years ago to manage the prescribing of narcotics in the Emergency Department. She also launched the Medication-Assisted Treatment program in 2018, providing access to medications like buprenorphine to help people quit their use of heroin or other opiates. Dr. Foley is a board member of the Bucks County Drug and Alcohol Commission. She contributed to the VIA’s opioid education forum last year and continues to help the VIA meet its mission by addressing the opioid epidemic in its strategic initiatives.


Year Organization Individual
2019 Dr. Brenda Foley
2017 Hannah Sexton – Hannah’s Closet
2015 Diane Smith Roxy Reading Therapy Dogs
2015 Ray Hendrick “The Bluebird Man”
2013 Bucks County Children’s Museum
2013 CB Cares Educational Foundation
2011 Bowman’s Hill Wildflower Preserve Hon. Edmund V. Ludwig
2009 Doylestown Bike & Hike Committee Karen Thompson
2007 Heritage Conservancy Marne Dietterich – Wrapping Presence
2005 Special Equestrians
2003 Larry Schade
2003 Rev. John Weatherhog
2003 Rev. Tracy Weatherhog
2002 Bicycle Trail Louis White
2002 Bicycle Trail Lynne B. Goldman
2001 Delaware Valley College Mike & Arlene Stachel
2000 FISH Milton Rutherford
1999 Peace Valley Nature Center Joe Helberg
1998 Eleanor Bracer Pitcairn
1998 Officer Judy Murphy
1997 Penn Engineering Herman & Ann Silverman
1996 County Theater Stuart Montgomery
1995 Genuardi Family markets Jane & Chuck Acton
1994 Doylestown Business and Community Alliance Walter Conti
1993 Nature Club Helen & Ken Gemmill
1992 Junior Women’s Club Howard Foote (Posthumous)