Educational Scholarships

The VIA is committed to empowering others through education and offers several awards and scholarships. The VIA offers Educational Scholarships, HOBY Scholarships, and Women’s Scholarships. Through the James-Lorah Memorial House Committee, it also gives two awards: the James-Lorah Deed of Kindness Prize and the James-Lorah English Prize.

VIA Teen Scholarships

The Education Committee awards three Hannah Pollock-Laura Haddock Scholarships to graduating high school seniors who reside in the Central Bucks School District and have been accepted by a college or university to major in a human health-related program. Since 2008, the VIA has awards $54,000 in scholarships to Central Bucks graduates.

YEARNameHigh SchoolUniversityAward
2019 Sabrina Antonucci CBEast Notre Dame $2,000
2019 Laura SpadtCB South Penn State $2,000
2019Julia WiegerCB East Univ. Pittsburgh $2,000
2018Ashley WeissCB EastUniv. Maryland$2,000
2018Lydia HuCB WestPenn State$2,000
2018Sambhav JainCB EastGeorgia Tech$2,000
2017Alekhya GunturiCB EastBoston University$2,000
2017Jack TrainaCB WestHarvard$2,000
2017Sammy OmesiCB WestUniv. North Carolina$2,000
2016Casey ZhangCB EastUniv. Pittsburgh$2,000
2016Joseph M. Callaghan IIIAB WoodPenn State$2,000
2016Madeline MyrtetusCB EastUniv. Virginia$2,000
2015Abby RubinCB SouthWashington Univ.$2,000
2015Michele KarnCB SouthFranciscan Univ.$2,000
2015Pooja GandhiCB EastLaSalle Univ.$2,000
2014Lisa TheinAB WoodPenn State$2,000
2014Sarah D’SouzaCB EastPenn State-Schreyer$2,000
2014Zoe BarbatiCB EastUniv. Pennsylvania$2,000
2013David WeinsteinCB EastUniv. Michigan$1,000
2013Erin RossCB SouthSt. Joseph’s Univ.$1,000
2013Timothy SchisselbauerAB WoodTemple Univ.$1,000
2012April ZhangCB SouthUniv. of Miami$1,000
2012Michael ChenCB WestMass. Institute Tech.$1,000
2012Priya PatelCB EastWellesley$1,000
2011Jennifer GuideraCB EastHarvard$1,000
2011Kimberly LorCB SouthUniv. Pittsburgh$1,000
2011Sarah HadyniakCB SouthBoston University$1,000
2010Brendan FairmanCB WestUniv. Calif.-Berkley$1,000
2010Christopher ZhengCB SouthCornell$1,000
2010Mira AminCB SouthTemple 7yr. BA/MD$1,000
2009Ana BoccutiCB WestFranklin & Marshall$1,000
2009Andrew DegatanoCB EastCornell$1,000
2009Sasha HalazeCB WestMoravian College$1,000
2008Katelyn MullenCB West $1,000
2008Kathryn CalpinoCB East $1,000
2008Kelly DonahueCB South $1,000

Ruth Boland Memorial Nursing Scholarship

The committee also evaluates senior high school nursing scholarship candidates and selects the recipient for the VIA Ruth Boland Memorial Nursing Scholarship which is financially supported by the family of late VIA President Ruth Boland.

For the eighth year, the family of the late Ruth Boland, former VIA President and nurse, funded the VIA Ruth Boland Memorial Nursing Scholarship. At the VIA June 2019 Luncheon, Kathleen and Jeanne Boland presented the $2,000 award to Rebekah Cheng, a Central Bucks East student who plans to attend the University of Pittsburgh majoring in Nursing.

HOBY Scholarship

Since 1992, the Village Improvement Association of Doylestown has worked with the three Central Bucks School District high schools to identify outstanding sophomore students with promising leadership skills to attend Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership seminars. The VIA funds the fee to attend these informative skill-and-character-building three-day sessions. Each June, these students are invited to attend the VIA Membership luncheon to be honored and shared how the experience has impacted them.

Since 1992, the Village Improvement Association of Doylestown has worked with the three Central Bucks School District high schools to identify outstanding sophomore students with promising leadership skills to attend the three-day HOBY Leadership seminars. The VIA provides scholarships to attend these informative skill and character-building sessions. The three recipients this year include Sarah Zhang, Central Bucks East; Livia Olsen, Central Bucks West, and Elizabeth Zuerblis, Central Bucks South.

Hugh O’Brian, best known for his acting role as Marshall Wyatt Earp in the 1950 TV series The Life and Legend of Wyatt Earp, was a humanitarian as well. In 1958 O’Brian established the Hugh O’Brian Youth Foundation whose mission is “to inspire students to a life of leadership and service to their communities.”

Today, the HOBY Foundation holds seminars nationwide and in many foreign countries with more than 12,000 students participating each year.

James-Lorah Prizes

In 1924, Martha James Lorah established the Deed of Kindness Prize in her will and her husband, George Lorah, both a minister and amateur poet, established the George H. Lorah English Prize in his wife’s memory.  In June 2018 $100 was awarded to Hailey Bekos for the Martha James Lorah Deed of Kindness Prize and $100 was awarded to Andrew Cox for the George H. Lorah English Prize.

Women’s Scholarships

This committee was established in 1997. It is a program designed to provide financial aid to eligible women to obtain education and/or training to prepare them to secure employment or to improve their work status by upgrading their skills. The scholarships are based on need and must be used only for educational/vocational purposes.

The committee receives applications from women who are primarily referred through social service agencies, local college counselors, and community support groups. Applicants are generally adult women seeking to re-enter the job force, who are in need of support services for counseling and housing. Many of the applicants are single parents hoping to establish financial independence for themselves and their children. Applicants submit a goal statement, personal references and a plan of study. This committee does not review applications from graduating high school students.

Click here to download an application – WOMEN’S SCHOLARSHIP FORM